2021 Season Tentative Start May 28

UPDATE May 29: the Vernon autocross facility has been secured and the first race will be help tomorrow morning, May 30. See you there.

UPDATE – May 28: Everything is now in place for Kelowna Autocross start tonight. Vernon start on Sunday is still tentative. Stay tuned.

With Tuesday’s announcement of a loosening of Covid-19 restrictions, the OPDA executive is working with the CACC and its venue partners to finalize preparations for commencement of the 2021 season with an autocross event this Friday, May 28 at Okanagan College. The event will be capped at 50 participants (spectators not allowed) in accordance to the Covid-19 guidelines. Work is underway to clear the final hurdles. Stay tuned for more information as it becomes available.

Season Delayed

The 2021 season is now here and the Okanagan Precision Driving Association has booked a full schedule of Okanagan Autocross for both our Kelowna and Vernon facilities. That’s the good news. The bad news is that events such as autocross are not allowed under the Covid-19 restrictions currently in place by the Provincial Health Officer in the province of BC. We are working with the Confederation of Autosport Car Clubs to appeal to the PHO to relax restrictions for outdoor motorsports. Stay tuned to this page for more information.

Autocross Documentary Released

Okanagan Precision Drivers Association members Ethan Delichte and Steve Wensley have produced an excellent documentary on the sport of autocross. The duo’s company, Prime Light Media, produced the video for the VCMC Motorsport Club and used extensive footage from Okanagan Autocross events.

The short nine minute documentary does an excellent job of explaining the concept of autocross and reflecting the sheer enthusiasm and dedication of its supporters. The OPDA gives a shout-out and a vote of thanks to these two dedicated members for their wonderful work and this outstanding contribution to the sport of autocross.

The documentary can be viewed below and at this location.

2020 Annual General Meeting

The Okanagan Precision Driving Association held its inaugural Annual General Meeting on Monday, November 16, where a new board of directors was elected. Many thanks to retiring President Bruce Stevenson for his years of work at Okanagan Autocross and especially his hard work over the last year in establishing the Okanagan Precision Driving Association. Under Bruce’s direction, the club is off on the right foot with a bright future ahead. Bruce will serve as Vice President under the direction of newly elected President Wade Schmidt.

That’s a Wrap

The 2020 season is over. Thanks to all the hard working volunteers who help put this series together. Of particular note with a lot of work are Matt Schmidt, Will Dwyer, Wade Schmidt, Doug Floer, Ben Wegner and Bruce Stevenson.

Congratulations to Matt Schmidt for winning the Kelowna series and Will Dwyer for the Vernon series. Nick Gunner took top hotshot for Kelowna while brother Steve nailed the Vernon hotshot title. Both will be moved up to topgun rank. For the eliminator weekend, Steve Gunner was top hotshot and Wayne Terai won the big ugly trophy for topgun which he will proudly display in his dad’s garage.

Bruce Stevenson
President OPDA